First American Bank Scholarship recipients at the Chaparral High School awards ceremony on May 23, 2017.

New Mexico Community Foundation is pleased to announce it has awarded college scholarships to 25 students from across the state. The scholarships were awarded through these three donor-advised scholarship funds: the First American Bank Scholarship; the Jonathan Sherman Spradling Memorial Scholarship; and the Aldo Leopold Charter School Scholarship.

The First American Bank Scholarship is a four-year award given to graduates of Chaparral High School in Chaparral, N.M. This year’s 20 recipients are Carla Acuna, Britney Basinger, David Castro, Felix Escajeda, Paulina Evangelista, Gabriel Gonzalez, Jazzel Gutierrez, Abraham Hernandez, Natalie Lara, Evelyn Loya, Briana Madrid, Jaquelin Martinez, Phillip Martinez, Juan Nieto, Misael Oronia, Blanca Ramirez, Damaris Saenz, Emily Soto, Josue Vazquez, and Alejandra Zapata.

The Aldo Leopold Charter School – Ella, Michael and Ella Memorial Scholarship is given to graduates of the high school, located in Silver City, N.M. It was established in honor of three students who attended the school and lost their lives in an accident in 2014. This year’s recipients are Faith Diamanti and Olivia Moritz.

The Jonathan Sherman Spradling Memorial Scholarship is named after a graduate of Artesia High School who died in an accident at the age of 23. It is awarded to graduates of Artesia, Belen, Los Lunas or Valencia high schools. This year’s recipients are Jared Gonzales of Los Lunas High School, LeAnn Lovato of Belen High School, and Melissa Richards of Artesia High School.

NMCF congratulates the scholarship recipients and thanks our generous donors who make these scholarships possible!